Michael Jordan, Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, Vin Scully To Receive Presidential Medal of Freedom

President Obama has named the final group of recipients of the Presidential Medal of Freedom of his administration, and three of the 20 winners are from the world of sports. All time basketball greats Michael Jordan and Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, along with long time Los Angeles Dodgers announcer Vin Scully, will receive the nation’s highest civilian honor in a ceremony on November 22nd.

Jordan won six NBA titles with the Chicago Bulls, was the NBAs Most Valuable Player five times, and was also a member of the 1982 NCAA Champion North Carolina Tar Heels. His list of awards and accomplishments goes on and on, and many consider him the greatest basketball player ever.

If Jordan isn’t the best player ever, then fellow award winner Kareem Abdul-Jabbar surely is. Abdul Jabbar won three NCAA championships with UCLA (he would have won four, but in that era freshman were not eligible), and six NBA titles, one with the Milwaukee Bucks and five with the Los Angeles Lakers. He too, has a list of awards and accomplishments a mile long, including being the all time leading scorer in the NBA.

Scully retired after the 2016 baseball season after an incredible 67 years calling Dodgers games, first in Brooklyn and then in Los Angeles. He also was an announcer of NFL football, professional golf, and major league baseball playoffs and World Series for many years on CBS and NBC. Its going to be really weird for Dodgers fans next season with Vin retired from the microphone.

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+Share on RedditShare on StumbleUponEmail this to someone

You may also like...